No one ever imagines getting into a car accident. Yet, every driver at some point in their lifetime will be the victim of a car accident. When you’re not at fault, you expect that the driver who was responsible for the accident will also pay for your injuries and for damages to your vehicle. But what if the other driver was uninsured? What if they don’t carry enough car insurance to cover your expenses? Will your insurance plan pay? Here’s what you need to know about Colorado car insurance law:
In the state of Colorado, car drivers are required to purchase a minimum of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident per property damage. While these limits may protect you after a mild car accident or fender bender, they won’t be nearly enough if you are injured in a catastrophic car accident. A serious car accident could cost hundreds of thousands of dollars in expenses and lost wages. Without the right insurance, you could find yourself in serious financial difficulty.
It is important to know that liability coverage covers people you hit but won’t actually help you if you are injured. This is where Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage comes into play. PIP coverage will help pay for you and your passengers’ medical expenses after an accident. It is important to purchase this type of insurance as well.
Insurance experts recommend that drivers purchase additional liability coverage, as well as optional car insurance coverage, such as:
- Collision coverage – protects the damages done to your car
- Comprehensive coverage – protects against theft, weather damage, and wildlife damage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage – protects you against accidents that involve uninsured or underinsured drivers
- Rental car coverage – protects you if you are involved in an accident while driving a rental car
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
The chances of getting into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver are great – especially in the Mile High State. According to the Denver Post, in 2012 alone nearly one out of every six motorists in the state of Colorado was driving without car insurance. In fact, Colorado ranks consistently in the top 10 for states with the worst insurance coverage. Drivers can protect themselves by purchasing additional uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM). The cost is fairly cheap compared to liability and collision coverage.
Contact Our Colorado Springs Car Accident Lawyers
No matter what life throws your way, the Colorado Springs car accident lawyers at the Green Law Firm are ready and willing to help. Contact the experienced Colorado Springs car accident attorneys at the Green Law Firm today to schedule a no-obligation consultation and discuss your case. Call us today at 1-719-694-8515.